Software Option: Damage Calculator

Software Option: Damage Calculator

The Damage Calculator is an addition to the MAS Terminal Programme for the subsequent (offline) damage calculation based on recorded Rain-Flow matrices. The result is the damage value which allows for the evaluation of the charged load changes concerning its effect of the damage on the tested part. The method used by the Damage Calculator assumes the "linear damage accumulation hypothesis” (Pilgrem-Miner). This hypothesis assumes that individual damages of different load cycles can be added straight proportionally to calculate the total damage.

The basis of the damage calculation is the Wöhler curve and characteristic operating load curve, respectively. The parameters of this curve are stored in the so-called damage file that can be customised to the user's requirements by any editor. Optionally, the parameters of the Damage Evolution Method (DE) may be used.
DAMCALC requires the existence of Rain Flow Method (RF).

Typical Applications and Characteristics

In most cases the calculated damage value is only meaningful in relative terms, i.e. by comparing different data records. For instance, the damage value can be used for the comparison of:

  • different (test) tracks
  • different (test) drivers
  • impact of different climatic conditions
  • different load cases

In such cases the ratio of the damage values is a meaningful conclusion advising of how much more severe the application case A was, compared to the application case B.
Referring to the example with the comparison of different test tracks, e.g. supposed the damage value of track A is twice the damage value of track B, means that test track B should be driven twice to level the severity of test track A.

Software Option: Damage Calculator

Software Option: Damage Calculator

Der Damage Calculator ist eine Erweiterung des MAS Terminalprogramms zur nachträglichen (offline) Schadensrechnung (damage calculation) anhand aufgezeichneter Rain-Flow-Matrizen. Das Resultat, der Schadenswert ermöglicht die Bewertung der erfahrenen Lastwechsel bezüglich des Schadenseinflusses auf das untersuchte Bauteil. Bei der vom Damage Calculator verwendeten Methode wird von der "linearen Schadensakkumulations-Hypothese" (Pilgrem-Miner) ausgegangen. Ihr liegt die Annahme zu Grunde, dass sich die Einzelschädigungen unterschiedlicher Lastspiele linear aufsummieren lassen, um die Gesamtschädigung zu berechnen.
Grundlage der Schadensrechnung ist die Wöhler- bzw. Betriebslastenkennlinie. Die Parameter dieser Kennlinie werden im so genannten Damage-File abgelegt, das mit jedem Editor den eigenen Bedürfnissen angepasst werden kann. Optional besteht die Möglichkeit, die Parameter der Methode Damage Evolution (DE) zu verwenden.
DAMCALC setzt mindestens das Vorhandensein der Methode RF (Rainflow) voraus.

Typische Anwendungen und Eigenschaften

Der berechnete Schadenswert ist in den allermeisten Fällen nur als eine relative Größe aussagekräftig, d.h. im Vergleich verschiedener Datensätze. Der Schadenswert erlaubt zum Beispiel folgende Vergleiche:

  • verschiedener (Test-)strecken
  • verschiedener (Test-)fahrer
  • des Einflusses unterschiedlicher klimatischer Bedingungen
  • verschiedener Beladungszustände

Das Verhältnis der Schadenswerte ist dann eine gute Aussage darüber, um wie viel härter der Anwendungsfall A gegenüber dem Anwendungsfall B ist.
Übertragen auf den Vergleich verschiedener Teststrecken, bedeutet zum Beispiel ein doppelter so hoher Schadenswert auf der Strecke A gegenüber B, dass die Strecke B zweimal gefahren werden muss, um auf ihr die gleiche Versuchshärte zu erzielen wie auf der Strecke A.