VAC - Virtual Analog Channel

Virtual channels are measurement channels that are not directly connected to a physical sensor but determine the actual measurement value through mathematical calculations from analogue and digital channels. The source channels (analogue and digital) are selectable. Additional coefficients (constants) can be defined for some of the formulas. The mathematical operations are performed based on the physical scaling defined for the channels to be calculated. The user can adjust the actually used values margin within certain limits. Like any real channel, the result of a virtual channel can be transformed into another physical unit by specifying the sensitivity and offset. To operate a virtual channel you should have this software. The price for the respective formula must be added on.

Formula “Power Calculation”: A1*A2

The formula “Power Calculation” calculates the value of a virtual channel as product of two analogue input channels (A1, A2). For example, using analogue inputs for the engine speed and torque, this formula calculates the engine power output.

Formula “Ratio”: A1/A2

The formula “Ratio” divides two analogue input channels (A1, A2). For example, the ratio of vehicle speed to engine speed gives the gear transmission ratio and hence suggests the actually selected gear.

Formula “Weighted Sums”: k1*A1 + k2*A2 + k3*A3 + k4*A4

The formula “Weighted Sums” calculates the sum of up to four analogue input channels (A1 to A4) with consideration of their real quality rating. In addition, a weighting factor (k1 to k4) can be associated to each input channel. For example, this formula can be used to determine the total force resulting from up to four independent force inputs.

Formula “Digital Gate”: A1*D1(0:=k1; 1:=k2) + A2*D2(0:=k3; 1:=k4)

The formula “Digital Gate” establishes multiple connections between two analogue signals (A1, A2) and two digital channels (D1, D2). For each of the two states (0 or 1) of the digital channels, the user can assign a given value (k1 and k2 for D1 and  k3 and k4 for D2). Depending on the state of the digital input the corresponding analogue channel is multiplied with the associated value. This can be done for two selectable analogue channels. The result is obtained by summation of the two products calculated before. Thus, this formula can select one of two analogue channels depending on one digital channel (D1 = D2). For example, given the vehicle speed signal (A1) and the directional information (D1), this formula enables the change of the algebraic sign (+ or -) for the vehicle speed depending on the driving direction.

Formula “Derive”: d(A1)/dt

The formula “Derive” calculates the derivative of an analogue input signal (A1). The calculation is based on the difference between the actual value of the input signal and this value delayed by a constant time, i.e. in mathematical terms corresponding to the differential quotient. The user can select the delay of the signal up to 1 second. The output derivative signal can be transformed into another user-defined unit and re-scaled in meaningful values. The effect of the selected time difference is automatically considered. A typical application of this formula is deriving the power of a shock absorber from its covered distance per time unit. The deflection of the shock absorber can be easily recorded by a displacement sensor. Thus, the formula “Derive” can online determine the derivative of the distance signal over time which corresponds to a value proportional to the shock absorber power.

Formula “Low Pass” - NEW

This formula reproduces a first order digital low pass filter. The cut-off frequency of the filter and the source channel can be selected by the user. The cut-off frequency may range from 1/40 to 1/400 000 of the system sampling rate. Based on the standard sampling rate of 2kHz the corresponding cut-off frequency ranges between 0.005Hz to 50Hz. Since low and very low cut-off frequencies can be set, this formula is best suited to measure the quasi static part of any dynamic value.

VAC - Virtual Analog Channel

Virtuelle Kanäle sind Meßkanäle, die nicht direkt einem physikalischem Sensor zugeordnet sind, sondern den aktuellen Meßwert aus der Verrechnung von analogen und digitalen Kanälen bestimmen. Die Quellkanäle (analog und digital) sind frei wählbar. Bei einigen Formeln können zusätzliche Koeffizienten (Konstanten) angegeben werden. Die Berechnung erfolgt auf der Basis der eingestellten physikalischen Skalierung der zu verrechnenden Kanäle. Dabei ist der tatsächlich genutzte Wertebereich vom Benutzer in gewissen Grenzen einstellbar. Wie ein realer Kanal auch, kann das Ergebnis eines virtuellen Kanals ebenfalls durch Angabe von Empfindlichkeit und Offset in eine andere physikalische Größe überführt werden. Zum Betrieb eines virtuellen Kanals brauchen Sie diese Basissoftware. Dazu kommt der Preis für die jeweilige Formel.

Formel „Power Calculation“: A1*A2

Die Formel „Power Calculation“ ermittelt den virtuellen Kanalwert aus der Multiplikation zweier analoger Eingangskanäle (A1, A2). Handelt es sich dabei z.B. um die Drehzahl und das Drehmoment, so ermittelt diese Formel die aktuelle Antriebsleistung.

Formel „Ratio“: A1/A2

Die Formel „Ratio“ dividiert zwei frei wählbare analoge Eingangskanäle (A1, A2). Handelt es sich dabei z.B. um die Geschwindigkeit und die Motordrehzahl, so kann an Hand des ermittelten Quotienten auf das U?bersetzungsverhältnis und damit auf den aktuell genutzten Gang geschlossen werden.

Formel „weighted sums“:k1*A1 + k2*A2 + k3*A3 + k4 * A4

Die Formel „weighted sums“ bildet aus bis zu vier analogen Eingangskanäle (A1 bis A4) die Summe. Dabei wird deren tatsächliche physikalisch Wertigkeit berücksichtigt. Zusätzlich kann für jeden Summanden ein Wichtungsfaktor (k1 bis k4) angegeben werden. Diese Formel kann z.B. benutzt werden, um die resultierende Kraft aus bis zu vier Einzelkräften zu berechnen.

Formel „digital gate“: A1*D1( 0 := k1; 1:= k2) + A2*D2( 0 := k3; 1:= k4)

Mit dieser Formel können auf vielfältige Weise Verknüpfungen zwischen zwei analogen (A1, A2)) und zwei digitalen (D1, D2) Eingangskanälen erzeugt werden. Dazu kann der Benutzer jedem der zwei Zustände (0 und 1) des Digitaleingangs je einen beliebigen Wert (k1 und k2 für D1, bzw. k3 und k4 für D2) zuordnen. Je nach Zustand des Digitaleingangs wird der zugehörige Analogkanal mit dem assoziierten Wert multipliziert. Dies geschieht für zwei frei wählbare analoge Kanäle. Durch Summieren der beiden Produkte wird schließlich das Endergebnis ermittelt. Z.B. läßt sich durch diese Formel in Abhängigkeit von einem digitalen Kanal (D1 = D2) einer von zwei Analogkanälen auswählen. Liegt ein Geschwindigkeitssignal (A1) und eine Richtungsinformation (D1) vor, so läßt sich durch diese Formel je nach Fahrtrichtung das Vorzeichen der Geschwindigkeit ändern.

Formel „Derive“: d(A1)/dt

Diese Formel bildet die Ableitung des Eingangssignals (A1). Die Berechnung erfolgt anhand der Differenzbildung zwischen dem aktuellen und einem um eine konstante Zeit verzögerten Wert des Eingangssignals. Im mathematischen Sinne handelt es sich hierbei also um den Differenzenquotienten. Die Verzögerung des Signals kann vom Benutzer frei gewählt werden und bis zu 1 Sekunde betragen. Das Ausgangssignal kann in eine vom Benutzer definierte neue Einheit überführt und in sinnvollen Grenzen neu skaliert werden. Dabei wird der Effekt der gewählten Zeitdifferenz automatisch berücksichtigt. Eine typische Anwendung für diese Formel ist die Ermittlung der Dämpferkraft aus dem zurückgelegten Dämpferweg pro Zeiteinheit. Die Dämpfer Auslenkung kann dabei einfach durch einen Weggeber erfasst werden. Mit der Formel „Derive“ kann online die Ableitung dieses Wegesignal nach der Zeit abgeleitet werden, was einen der Dämpferkraft proportionalen Wert liefert.

Formel “Low Pass” - NEU

Diese Formel realisiert einen digitalen Tiefpassfilter erster Ordnung. Die Grenzfrequenz und der Quellkanal können vom Benutzer bestimmt werden. Die Grenzfrequenz kann zwischen 1/40 und 1/400 000 der Systemabtastrate variiert werden, was bei der Standardabtastrate von 2kHz einem Bereich von 0,005Hz bis 50Hz entspricht. Durch die Möglichkeit niedrige und sehr niedrige Grenzfrequenzen einstellen zu können, ist der Filter bestens geeignet, um den quasi statischen Anteil einer dynamischen Größe zu bestimmen.